About Us

Who We Are

The Internet & Mobile Association of India (IAMAI) is not-for-profit industry body registered under the Societies Registration Act, 1860. Its mandate is to expand and enhance the online and mobile value added services sectors. It is dedicated to presenting a unified voice of the businesses it represents to the government, investors, consumers and other stakeholders.

What We Do

Digital Industry
Representing the digital industry is at the core of our mandate. We believe that some of the key parameters of economic and social development such as job creation, innovation, contribution to the GDP, inclusion and empowerment of the citizens are going to be driven by the digital industry. There is already talk of this industry contributing US $1 trillion by 2022. IAMAI's key role is to ensure the growth and sustainability of this industry.
Our Goals
Building on our humble beginning, today we aspire to represent 400 million internet users and over 6,000 digital start-ups. We also have ambitions to connect 1 billion Indians, create global Internet companies from India and evolve India into a digitally driven economy and society
Our Charter
Our charter is to keep digital in the center and fire up three stakeholders: users, industry and the Government. As a result, we are actively involved in:
  • Spreading the use of internet to a billion plus Indians.
  • Creating an enabling environment for digital companies to thrive and add value to the economy and society.
  • Promoting the Indian Internet ecosystem with special programmes designed for the emerging tech start-up ecosystem; and
  • Helping Government leverage digital for better governance and development.

Our Council

Executive Council
The Executive Council is responsible for the execution of the annual strategy of IAMAI as set by the Governing Council.
Member Name Organization IAMAI Designation
Amit Agarwal Amazon Chairman
Dhruv Shringi Yatra Vice-Chairman
Satyan Gajwani Times Internet Treasurer
Subho Ray IAMAI President
Governing Council
The governing council is the highest elected representative body of IAMAI. Elected annually, it sets the strategic direction of the association and comprises CEOs of leading internet and mobile content companies.
Member Name Organization Company Designation
Ajit Mohan Facebook VP & MD India
Amanpreet Bajaj Airbnb Country Manager
Ambika Khurana Netflix Director, Public Policy
Amit Agarwal Amazon Sr. VP and Country Manager India
Anant Goenka Indian Express Executive Director
Anupam Pahuja Paypal Managing Director, India
Ashutosh Chadha Mastercard Vice President & Head Public Policy and Government Affairs South Asia
Deepak Jacob Hotstar President & General Counsel - Legal & Regulatory Affairs
Dhruv Shringi Yatra Co-founder & CEO
Dinesh Agarwal Indiamart Founder & CEO
Harsh Jain Dream11 CEO & Co-Founder
Hemant Gala Phone Pe Head Payments, Banking & Financial Services
Jitendra Gupta PayU EX-MD
Naveen Kukreja Paisabazaar Co-Founder & CEO
Rajesh Magow Makemytrip Co-Founder & Chief Executive Officer
Rajneesh Kumar Flipkart Chief Corporate Affairs Officer
Sanjay Gupta Star Tv Chief Executive Officer
Satish Kumar Gupta Paytm Payments Bank Managing Director & Chief Executive Officer
Satyan Gajwani Times Internet Vice Chairman
TR Ramachandran Visa Group Country Manager India & South Asia
Umang Bedi Dailyhunt President
Upasana Taku Mobikwik Cofounder
Vikas Agnihotri Google Country Director Sales
Vivek Bhargava Dentsu Chief Executive Officer
Subho Ray IAMAI President


IAMAI committies are dynamic formation representing current priorities of the association. At present there are the following committies working on specific issues.
Digital Advertising
Cyber Security
Digital Entertainment
Sharing Economy
Digital Gaming
Big Data
Digital Commerce
Digital Payments
Internet of Things [IoT]
Artificial Intelligence
Public Policy
ESDM Committee

IAMAI Previous Chairmen

Neville Taraporewalla

Anupam Mittal
  • MVAS industry organised for the first time. Met with TRAI Chairman to discuss the Short Code issue
  • Invited by the Minister of Communications & IT to ideate on the ways & means of increasing broadband penetration
  • IAMAI's membership fee reduced to include start-ups
  • One member one vote introduced
J. Murugavel
2007 - 2008
  • Pioneering estimation of Internet users in India
  • Tasked to prepare a draft five-year vision for internet penetration by the Department of Information Technology
  • Payments Group formed
  • Pioneering report on the adoption of digital among the SMEs
  • Trade (e-commerce, advertising) nos. formally began
Sanjeev Bikhchandani
  • Invited to draft the rules and regulations governing Section 79 of the IT Act
  • TRAI recognises VAS industry
  • Pioneering work on safe surfing: reached 30,000 students across 4 cities
  • Payments Settlement Act passed
  • Benchmark agreement with AAI on credit terms to agencies along with a well defined credit recovery process
  • Tasked by TRAI as a nodal agency for 'Do Not Disturb' (DND) registry
  • Invited by RBI to draft Pre-Paid Instruments guidelines
Shailesh Rao
  • RBI accepts IAMAI recommendations on payment aggregators
  • Pioneering report on Cash to Cashless Transactions
  • First-ever overseas mission of VAS companies to France & Switzerland
  • Deposed to the Parliamentary Standing Committee on Copyright Bill
  • DAVP accredation for digital media & SMS aggregators
  • First-ever study on the Impact of Broadband on India's GDP Growth
  • Pioneering report on the evolution of MVAS
Hitesh Oberoi
  • Internet and Mobile advertising exempted from service tax
  • Writ petition on Sec 79 of the IT Act
  • Crossed the landmark figure of 100mn internet users
  • NOFN announced at the India Digital Summit
  • Invited to the NOFN Advisory Council chaired by the Minister of Telecommunications & IT
  • Invited to be a member of the Cyber Regulations Advisory Committee
  • First offsite with CMOs
Rajan Anandan
  • Payments Council of India formed
  • Invited by the Election Commission to present views on adherence by social media platforms to the Model Code of Conduct
  • Pioneering report on the impact of social media in elections
  • Active role in the consultative process of evolving the outline of an effective privacy regime in India
  • Mobile 10X launched
  • Supreme Court strikes down Sec 66 & revises Sec 79 (a) on IAMAI's writ petition
  • First ever CEOs' mission to China
  • Dedicated India pavilion set up at MWC Barcelona
  • Pioneering report on India@Digital Bharat which highlighted that India's Internet economy will contribute 5% to the GDP by 2020
  • Pioneering report on e-commerce
Kunal Shah
  • Impleads in Delhi HC on FDI in e-commerce: DIPP clarification vindicates position
  • Invited to discussion on Consumer Protection Bill
  • Ensuring net neutrality through a TRAI ruling on differential pricing
  • First of its kind research on ‘Index of Internet Readiness of Indian States', highlighting their standing on various parameters of Internet readiness
  • First-ever India Affiliate Show
  • Major achievement on GST as 4 out of 6 asks raised accepted in new draft
  • Submission on Equalisation Levy leads to no further extension of EL in budget 2017
  • Invited to Ratan Watal Committee on Digital Payment Frameworks
  • 5 cities Start-up Connect programme
  • Governing Council expanded to 24 members
  • 12 new sectors introduced

Our People

Dr. Subho Ray
President, IAMAI
Mr. Gaurav Chopra
Vice-President, IAMAI
Bhanupreet Singh Saini
Associate Vice President
Ms. Latika K
Associate Vice President & HR Head
Mr. Vineet Mishra
Assistant Vice President, IAMAI
Mr. Kalyan Biswas
Associate Vice President, IAMAI
Ms. Neha Bajaj
Assistant Vice President, IAMAI
Privacy Policy  |  © 2021 IAMAI